The Daily Muster

November 12, 2010

1. The Economist’s Those Nice Chaps at the IMF.

2. Rory Caroll’s Haiti Cholera Death Toll Approaches 800 With Rapid Increase Feared for The Guardian.
Here’s a photoessay by the Guardian on the outbreak.

3. BBC’s Kosovo Medics Accused of Trafficking Kidneys.

4. Louis P. Masur’s Slaveholder’s Diary for The New York Times.
Nov. 12, 1860 entry by Keziah Goodwyn Hopkins Brevard, a slave owner in South Carolina wrote this in her diary. Race relations in America are fascinating still if you only look to the comments on the piece.

5. Abigail Ronck’s The Fighter: A Life In and Out of Boxing for The Brooklyn Ink.
Not only does Ronck right really well, she found an amazing source who gave her plenty of access. I do believe students at Columbia University produce exceptional journalism that often goes unread, so when I found this it had to go on the daily muster. She did with this piece what I couldn’t do with my piece, Bronx Boxer Keeps Chasing Golden Gloves Dream for The Bronx Ink. For many reasons this piece didn’t turn out the way I had hoped. I was pleased with the images I got of the Golden Gloves at Madison Square Garden though.

Bonus – Thomas Lang’s Fabricated Controversy for Columbia Journalism Review.
Sometimes even the big guns get it wrong.

Leave a comment